Posted by: Digital Pogi | January 13, 2010

WordPress to Blogger back to WordPress

I’m welcoming the New Year with a new blog.  It isn’t actually new.  It’ll only be self-hosted.  I decided to move to a webhost and get my own domain.   I had some hesitations at first due to some technical ignorance.  I even thought of getting a blogger account and a domain to make it easier for me just as Doc Broc suggested. I’ll probably do it on my next blog. I also researched on how to transfer wordpress to blogger.   I came up with a couple of websites and programs but none was successful.

http://wordpress2blogger.appspot.com/ converts XML file so that you can import it on your blogger account. But it didn’t work for me.

I also tried Zeaster’s blogsync program.  I thought I had it, but I received this error:

at com.google.gdata.client.http.HttpGDataRequest.handleErrorResponse(Unknown Source)
at com.google.gdata.client.http.GoogleGDataRequest.handleErrorResponse(Unknown Source)
at com.google.gdata.client.http.HttpGDataRequest.checkResponse(Unknown Source)
at com.google.gdata.client.http.HttpGDataRequest.execute(Unknown Source)
at com.google.gdata.client.http.GoogleGDataRequest.execute(Unknown Source)
at com.google.gdata.client.Service.insert(Unknown Source)
at com.google.gdata.client.GoogleService.insert(Unknown Source)
at org.easter.blogsync.BloggerClient.newPost(BloggerClient.java:62)
at org.easter.blogsync.BloggerClient.newWordpressPost(BloggerClient.java:82)
at org.easter.blogsync.SyncFrame.importPosts(SyncFrame.java:333)
at org.easter.blogsync.SyncFrame$4.actionPerformed(SyncFrame.java:758)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

An error I could not understand.  I almost made it.  If only I could decipher what the error was and be able to transfer my WordPress to Blogger.

I also thought of just copy-pasting my posts and delete the old blog.  I promised not to sue myself for plagiarism anyways. But I wanted to learn.  I am looking forward to learning new things (HTML, CSS, SEO, PhP, GA, CPA CTC, etc.)

So here I am back where I started, WordPress.  I just regretted ending up with one of the worst webhost and domain provider.  I’ll just deal with it and probably learn from their mistakes.  Until then, I still am hoping that it’ll be up and running as soon as possible.  Wish me Luck.

Leave a Reply

Categories

