Posted by: Digital Pogi | November 19, 2009

New Strings Attached

I felt the need to play my guitar again.  The last time I touched the frets and strummed the strings were about a year ago.  I felt the need to update myself with new songs.

I went out and bought a new set of strings some music magazines.  I attached the strings tuned the guitar.  I always get nervous when rotate the knob for the #1 string.  I’m afraid that I might stretch it too much for it to snap and hit me in the face.  After a few minutes I was playing it again.  My fingers were now hurting because it’s no longer used to metal strings.

I turned the pages of the magazine I bought and tried interpreting the chords.  I tried to sing, but my auditory system tells me that I should focus on playing the guitar to get better results.  I skipped from songs to songs, not even finishing a stanza.  I find them all difficult now.

Good thing there’s Google.  I searched for tablatures and tried playing them. I still am having a hard time. I used to use guitar pro to make it easier then I stumbled upon guitar tutee ang ako si chris.  There you can watch guitar player play the songs.  Although it’s not a tutorial site, I can read the notes/chords they use, the fill-in, and adlibs.  Thank you Google!

Here’s my favorite video s far.

Responses

  1. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. Lemme know if there are other exciting events coming up! 😀

    • watch out for iblog mini: blogging and the 2010 elections. It’s to be held on Nov. 24. click here to get more info

  2. One of my frustrations in life is learning how to play the guitar. Sayang di ako nag-take ng lessons.

  3. self study lang ok na. It will be frustrating at first. Masakit pa sa daliri. It’s never to late.


Leave a Reply

Categories

